top of page
Search
  • matthatter371

Derealization

I began this project with no idea what I was doing, except the general craving to oil paint on wood. I figured I'd do two pieces, because one piece felt too easy. One would be a small, detailed eye painted on wood. The other would be something on a canvas, also eye themed. I eventually decided to combine the two pieces, mostly for time's sake. I added eyes to the blank canvas as a placeholder, and small circles between the eyes, at this point considering small marbles or clear pebbles in those spaces. I would figure this out as I finished the wooden piece.


I decided on the theme of derealization. Derealization is a mental state in which one feels detached from one's surroundings or like the things around oneself are unreal. I decided to make the wooden piece the 'focus point' and as the work moves outward, it slowly deteriorates, representing a declining mental state. When I dissociate I often find a focal point to stick to. Everything around that point may fall apart, but if I can remain focused on that point, I won't float away. That was the goal with this piece. I painted the eye green as that colour represents grounding, intelligence, and a sense of self to me. I began to work on the distortion of the background canvas.


I decided to make the four circles into pupils. Because I didn't want to make the canvas too heavy and I didn't know how to transition between canvas and marble/pebble and was running out of time. I did a fun texture thing on the side that is supposed to represent full deterioration of the mental state. I will later add black as well to this.


Finally, I added a few more details to the pupils and made a rather last-minute decision to add wax tear-drops to the derealized eyes. I feel this fully brings the work together. I am happy with this piece and hope to work more with oil and wood, though I'm not too sure about oil on canvas.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page