top of page
Search
  • matthatter371

Figure Drawing with Thomas van Auken

Recently, my class did a two week figure drawing unit with Thomas van Auken. Figure drawing is one of my favourite activities in art, and it is always fun to learn new techniques. Here are five of my drawings from over the course of the two weeks:


By combining the techniques of short, 15-30 second figure sketches, contour drawings, and basic figure drawing principles, we graduated from simple sketches to full contoured and shaded 10-15 minute drawings.

I gained a better grasp of observational drawing and developed counter and shading skills. Along with this, I worked on my understanding of proportion and the human skeletal and musculature system. I feel confident with my figure drawing abilities and would enjoy exploring the subject more.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page