top of page
Search
  • matthatter371

Graffiti: Creativity or Destruction?

Graffiti, as defined by Merriam-Webster, is "usually unauthorized writing or drawing on a public surface." Traditionally, graffiti is seen as a defacing form of destruction, but what, if anything, separates it from art? Is there not art in the reclamation of things through destruction? Is there not beauty in the fallout?


The real magic of graffiti is that there is no process. It just shows up. There is no credit taken except an anonymous tag. I think that's the kind of artist I'd like to be. I don't want people to know my process nor do I want people to know my name. I want my legacy to be a fever dream, a dusty memory on the shelf from two summers ago. I think it makes it both more and less personal that way. You know me deeply, but you have never seen my face and do not know my name, only the feelings in my soul.


I think there is beauty in making things from something else, especially when you are not supposed to. Screw that, maybe this concrete wall needs some cherry blossoms, or a tag, or a crude drawing of a penis. Maybe that is my legacy. Maybe that is truly the soul of humanity, once you boil down the useless social elitist garbage. Maybe we're all just an anonymous dick on a wall that's not meant to be there. I think that's a life worth living.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4GNoUYZhrT0

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page