top of page
Search
  • matthatter371

Karen Wood - The Art of Making a Mess

This is a reflection on a classmate's interview of a local artist, Karen Wood.


I was bored, frankly, as I was watching the video. I clicked onto it because I recognized my classmate's name and figured I'd check it out. I was about to find a video I was more interested in when I heard Mrs. Wood say something interested. Rylan, the friend interviewing her, asked what her favorite part of the art making process was. She responded without hesitation that her favorite part, without a doubt, was the mess she found she made after the work was done.


I sat for a moment, mouse hovering over another video, and contemplated that. Why would she care about the mess? Cleaning up sucks. So I sat and watched the rest of the interview and tried to understand.


What do we do when making art? What do we do in the process of making a mess? We displace the world around us. We create and shape and form and we disturb everything around us to configure things just so. Maybe that mess we create is an art in and of itself.


Karen Wood's Art:

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page